Team Jayco AlUla Unveils New Look for 2024 Season

Monday 1 January 2024


Giant’s partner WorldTour team enters the new season with an updated roster along with fresh colors and designs for its Giant bikes and gear.

With the 2024 racing season set to kick off in just over two weeks at the Tour Down Under stage race in Australia, Team Jayco AlUla unveiled its new fleet of Giant bikes and redesigned race kits. The team has a host of new talent this year and is looking forward to starting the season with a fresh new look.

Highlighting the list of new acquisitions is Australian sprinter Caleb Ewan, a winner of five Tour de France stages and five Giro d’Italia stages. Ewan adds significant firepower to the team’s finishing squad, joining Dutch speedster Dylan Groenewegen, also a winner of five Tour de France stages as well as multiple national championships and major one-day races.

“We have been working on our sprint leadout group a lot the past year and have added extra strength to it for next season,” said Team Jayco AlUla general manager Brent Copeland. “To have two of the best sprinters in the world on the team, with Caleb and Dylan, it is important to have the right support group and we believe with our new rider signings, and the way our current riders have developed and gelled together this year, we will have one of the best sprint groups in the WorldTour peloton for the 2024 season.”

In addition to the twin attack of Ewan and Groenewegen, the team also added powerhouse Max Walscheid to the team. The tall German will play a key role in the team’s finishing strategies at major races throughout the year.

Beyond the sprints, the team brings back a powerful pack of climbers and GC men including Simon Yates, a winner of the Vuelta a España overall and multiple stages in every ground tour, along with Eddie Dunbar, Chris Harper, Filippo Zana and newcomer Luke Plapp, a 22-year-old on the rise who won the 2022 Australian road racing title. In 2023, his first as a pro, Plapp played a key role at Ineos Grenadiers, where he often rode in support of Adam Yates.

The team added a total of six new riders this year. Also among them is Swiss talent Mauro Schmid, a 23-year-old who already has several major wins to his name including a stage at the Giro d’Italia.

Team Jayco-AlUla riders will again have a full quiver of Giant bikes to use for various race formats, conditions and terrain. Bikes will be equipped with Shimano drivetrain components and CADEX WheelSystems, saddles and tires. Racers will also use Giant helmets including the Rev Pro and Pursuit throughout the year. Beyond that, team riders and staff will work with Giant product designers and engineers to develop and test new cutting-edge products throughout the year.

For most races throughout the year, riders will choose one of three primary team bikes:

Propel Advanced SL: This aero road machine has been totally reengineered with input from the team and has been ridden to major race wins over the last two seasons. Expect to see the team’s designated sprinters including Ewan and Groenewegen, as well as Australian Michael Matthews, who has multiple grand tour stage wins on the Propel, racing at the front of the pack on these bikes when the sprints heat up.

TCR Advanced SL: The “Total Race Bike” has been pushing the limits of race performance for more than two decades. With hundreds of pro wins over the years, TCR is a top choice for stage racers, climbers and all-rounders including Yates. Engineered for best-in-class efficiency, advanced aerodynamics and total control, it’s ideal for tough mountain stages, rugged classics and long training days with challenging terrain.

Trinity Advanced Pro: Built to meet the demands of world champion time trialists, this speeding bullet is engineered using extensive CFD analysis and wind-tunnel testing to deliver superior aero performance in real-world racing conditions. Its AeroSystem tube shaping helps riders like two-time U.S. time trail champion Lawson Craddock shave seconds when it matters most.

To learn more about this year’s team, click here.

2024 Team Jayco-AlUa Roster

Lawson Craddock (USA)

Alessandro De Marchi (ITA)

Davide De Pretto (ITA)

Eddie Dunbar (IRL)

Luke Durbridge (AUS)

Felix Engelhardt (GER)

Caleb Ewan (AUS)

Angers Foldager (DEN)

Dylan Groenenwegen (NED)

Welay Hagos Berthe (ETH)

Lucas Hamilton (AUS)

Chris Harper (AUS)

Michael Hepburn (AUS)

Amund Grøndahl Jansen (NOR)

Chris Juul-Jensen (DEN)

Jan Maas (NED)

Michael Matthews (AUS)

Luka Mezgec (SLO)

Kelland O’Brien (AUS)

Jesús David Peña (COL)

Luke Plapp (AUS)

Rudy Porter (AUS)

Elmer Reinders (NED)

Mauro Schmid (SUI)

Callum Scotson (AUS)

Campbell Stewart (NZL)

Max Walscheid (GER)

Campbell Stewart (NZL)

Simon Yates (GBR)

Filipo Zana (ITA)